Its been a while since I dropped in – and I am thankful.

I haven’t been here in a while, and much to my surprise, people are still logging in and reading, presenting me with some confidence that a new post is warranted.

I love to write, and I do so much for work that I often forget how wonderfully cathartic it is to sit and tap out a few words in the hope that someone, somewhere, finds those words interesting enough to go to the next post, or at least paragraph.

My partner in life is now studying professional writing and editing on his way to a Bachelor’s degree. I am so proud of how far he has come as a writer and I know that he is determined to do it professionally.  It has also got me off my ample ass on a Wednesday night and with the TV a dark black square in the lounge, its time I took some time for me to write – to do what I love for the simple pleasure of it.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to pen another crazy rant at our government.  I did give them some air when they were in opposition, however, I have saved my rage for my social media portals where I am wont to use words that should not be used in polite company.

Then there is the Australia wide discussion happening among key influencers in food and wine – two of Australia’s most noted food critics and a handful of citizen journalists who have taken up the discussion around food blogging.  I hosted a radio show about it last week  and I don’t think we are much further. The general consensus is that we are not going to have consensus on this topic.  It seems each agitant in this online and print discourse has an opinion on what, if anything, should be done.  Others have simply given up because the subject is so fraught.

thankful

With what few words I have left, I wanted to simply write a few words about how thankful I am about life. I have a great life and everything in it seems to be positive, uplifting and makes me happy.  The aforementioned life partner – the chef and writer, the father, the lover, the man who I trust with my life above all others.  He makes my life a wonderful place to live – and I am thankful I have him.

My family – large in number and in personality. They are spread far and wide, we don’t get to see one another but we have a remarkable bond among us.  We don’t all get on all of the time – it is not human nature for a bunch of people with differing opinions and outlooks on life, to get along all of the time.  But I am thankful I have them all.

My job is terrific.  I have moved from being self employed for almost 5 years, to working in a dynamic, growing agency where there are terrific leaders, great colleagues and an energy unlike many other places I have worked.  We have one another’s backs, we care about what we do and how we deliver it. It’s a joy to go there every day – I have rarely worked this hard but I am thankful I have the job and the people I work with.

I am a step dad to two great kids.  Our boy is 17, has Down Syndrome and is in remission from leukemia. He can be a challenge some days, he knows how to push our buttons on other days but for every day he is in our life, he is a joy. He is filled with love and trust and I am thankful that he is here.  Our daughter is 6 going on 20 sometimes.  She is funny, smart, cheeky and loves to test us.  We don’t get to see her as much as we would like, but I am thankful she is in my life.  They have both taught me how to be a better man, a more patient man and yes, a good dad to them in the best way I can.

My partner and I are soon to buy a house.  There are many fun times ahead, agreeing on what we want, where to buy and what colour to paint walls, but I am thankful that I am in the position to be able to even think about it.  We earn good money for what we do – we work bloody hard for it but we are thankful that we can look forward to one day soon owning our own patch of Australia.

There is so much more to be thankful for – that I live in a country where I am not persecuted for who I love.  I want to get married here one day but at least I am not in fear of death torture, imprisonment or hatred for who I am.. for that I am thankful too.

I will come back and read this on those days that are darker than today, those days where I feel things are not so good.  Just to remind me that for so many reasons, I am thankful to be alive.

Leave a Reply

